Historic Hillsborough River State Park

Leaving Ocala, we headed west toward the Gulf to Clearwater for some personal business and beach time.  Hillsborough River State Park near Zephyrhills was as close as we could get. We camped here for four days and didn’t want to leave Hillsborough without taking at least a day to explore the park.

So on our last day we set out early on an overcast morning to walk the trails.  What was supposed to be a 1.5 mile walk turned into five miles after we took a wrong turn.  Following the Wetlands Restoration Trail I nervously thought for sure I’d see my first alligator, especially when we had to balance and hop on logs to cross a very swamped out portion of the trail. But who doesn’t love a challenge!  And better than that, surprises, as we came across this cypress swamp along the edge of the park. I was struck right away by the symmetry of the trees. DSC_3632c2w2SigWith a little cloud break, a gold glow from the rising sun was coming up behind the scene, adding some nice back lighting and reflections.

Further along, I missed an opportunity to capture a doe who stepped out onto our trail just a few hundred feet ahead.  I lost a minute or so elbowing my friend to stop talking and look ahead!  Oh well, it was beautiful in that morning light and a sight I’ll remember.

Luckily we came out near the entrance to the Park.  Even after five miles of walking we didn’t want to miss seeing the rapids and the suspension bridge so we headed there next.

I wanted to make an image of the rapids with the water veiled, but I didn’t have my tripod (foot, meet backside!). There were stumps along the edge so I found a spot where I could climb down. I crouched down and leaned against them attempting to balance myself and the camera for the slow shutter speed.

DSC_3643c1w1Sig

Nikon D7000, 28-75mm f2.8 @39mm, F11, 1/10, iso100.

Continuing along the Rapids Trail we found the suspension bridge.  It was closed! Bummer! The bridge had recently been closed due to some structural issues.  It had been constructed in 1938 by the Civilian Conservation Corp (CCC) as were most structures in Hillsborough, which is one of the oldest Florida State Parks. So I worked my way around, trying to make some interesting images from the places I could get to.

Click on the thumbnails for a larger image.

Just a short distance down the trail brought us to the recreation area of the park and a newer standard bridge crossing the river.  I wasn’t overly interested in it until I noticed the American Anhinga perched on a log branch that jutted out over the water.  I knew my best vantage point would be from that bridge. And I wasn’t disappointed with the many angles I used, the different reflections on the water and the circles from the rain when it began to fall.

DSC_3737w2c1Sig

DSC_3765w1c5x7Sig

DSC_3776w1c4x6Sig

DSC_3806w1c4x6Sig

DSC_3822w1c8x10Sig

Visit the Gallery for Hillsborough River State Park at my Facebook page for more images, here: http://tinyurl.com/p9w6ney

Happy shooting and see you at the next stop!

Susan

Leave a comment